NPAHN will contribute to the development and maintenance of a viable and diverse livestock industry in northern Ontario through the provision of veterinary services to large animal owners and support activities including veterinary recruitment and retention, producer education, and communication.

What is NPAHN? Find a vet

What is NPAHN?

NPAHN is an elected executive committee of large animal owners at their Annual General Meeting – it is one of the stakeholders in the tripartite group of Large Animal Owners (NPAHN), the Ministry of Northern Development and Mines (MNDM) and the Designated Area Contract Veterinarians (DAVA) that set-up and operate the Veterinary Assistance Program (VAP).

NPAHN covers all areas of the Province of Ontario north of and including the County of Renfrew, the County of Haliburton, the Township of Addington Highlands, the Township of Carlow/Mayo, the Township of Limerick, the Township of Wollaston, the Georgian Bluffs Township, the Town of South Bruce Peninsula, and the District Municipality of Muskoka.

NPAHN has created 20 local committees in their designated communities that represent the large animal owners – the users of the Veterinary Assistance Program. These committees are called Veterinary Service Committees (VSC’s) - they represent all large animal owners in their designated areas, advise NPAHN of local large animal health care issues, make suggestions for program improvements, name the contract vet(s) yearly that they want to provide health care services under the Veterinary Assistance Program and seek replacement veterinarians as the need arises.

Veterinary Assitance Program (VAP)
Ministry of Northern Development and Mines (MNDM)
Northern Producer Animal Health Network (NPAHN)
Designated Area Veterinary Association (DAVA)
Veterinary Services Committee (VSC)

Algoma, Bruce Peninusula, Cochrane South, Cochrane/Glackmeyer, Dryden, East Parry Sound, Haliburton, Hearst, Kapuskasing, Manitoulin, Muskoka, North Hasting, North Parry Sound/East Nipissing, Rainy River,Renfrew, Temiskiming, Timmins, Thunder Bay, West Nipissing/East Sudbury, West Sudbury, West Parry Sound

All Livestock Owners

Find your local VSC

Select your District

Algoma Veterinary Service Committee
Chris G. Gordon, Secretary
215 Echo Lake Rd
Echo Bay ON P0S1C0
(705) 248-2373

Bruce Peninsula Veterinary Services Committee
Tom Cunningham, Chairman
226 668 4450

Cochrane South Veterinary Services Committee
Chris Riach, Chairman
3167 Highway 11 S., P.O. Box 622
Matheson ON P0K 1V0
519 533 8947

Joe Hoogenhoud
804 Hwy 579, RR # 3
Cochrane ON P0L 1C0
705-272-9012 mobile

Dryden Veterinary Services Committee
Marjorie Larson
P.O. Box 64
Oxdrift ON P0V 2J0

East Parry Sound Veterinary Service Committees
Wayne Fetterley
RR # 1
Kearney ON P0A 1K0

Haliburton Veterinary Services Committee
Shane Dykstra, President
PO Box 656, 1354 Plantation Rd.
Minden ON K0M 2K0

Hearst Veterinary Service Committee
Jessie Lemieux, President
15 petite Gaspésie, Apt 2
PO Box 2755
Hearst ON P0L 1N0
705 373 0413

Kapuskasing Veterinary Service Committee
Selina Rogers, Chair of Committee
306 441 4530

Manitoulin Veterinary Service Committee
Steve Orford, Chair
284 Beaver Rd
Providence Bay ON P0P 1T0

Diane Wiber

Rainy River District Veterinary Services Committee
Tom Morrish, Chair
RR # 1
Devlin ON P0W 1C0
807 486 3622

Municipality Of Hastings Highlands
613-33802811 ext: 255

North Parry Sound/East Nipissing Veterinary Services Committee
Michel Champagne, President

Pauline Carmichael
470 Galston Rd. RR#2
Mattawa ON P0H 1V0
705-776-7318 fax

Renfrew Veterinary Services Committee
David McGonegal
3362 Beachburg Rd RR # 2
Pembroke ON

West Sudbury Veterinary Committee
Keith Emiry

Temiskaming Veterinary Services Committee
Charles Regele, Chairman
Box 287 Earlton ON P0J 1E0

Thunder Bay Veterinary Service Committee
Peter Aalbers, Chairman
171 Blind Line Rd.
Rosslyn ON P7C 0R4
807-939-4139 fax

Timmins Veterinary Services Committee
Frank Hassen, President

West Nipissing/East Sudbury Veterinary Service Committee
Darryl Kuepfer
423 Millrand Road
Verner ON P0H 2M0
705 594 9179

West Parry Sound Veterinary Service Committee
Mike Kekkonen
53 McCord’s Rd.
McKellar ON P2A 0B5
(705) 389-1436

Recent News

Visit Farm North for upcoming educational program and workshops.

June 2020 Update

The Northern Producer Animal Health Network (NPAHN) is researching information about the Veterinary Assistance Program (VAP). This program was established

Read More

Let's Get In Touch!

To get in touch or receive information on the activities of either NPAHN or your local VSC, please contact the Secretary/Treasurer of NPAHN. Mr. Mitchell will be happy to find the right person(s) to assist you.

G. Mitchell, Secretary & Treasurer
NPAHN, 42 Lake Drive
Huntsville, Ontario, P1H 1E7
(705) 571-4096